Don't be a tree 🌳

Don't be a tree 🌳

A few weeks back, I got into an accident 😭😭.

I could barely stand, I could barely walk, and the situation was scary for me.

As I visited the doctor, the situation got more complex. I came to know my Patella has been fractured and now I have to undergo surgery.

A patella fracture is a break in your kneecap, the bone that covers your knee joint.

As I laid on the surgery table, I began to think about my life.

I am unaware of how but I suddenly realized that this accident is a means to reflect on my own behaviour.

While laying on the surgery table, here are some things that I understood and needed to adopt ASAP in order to improve my life:

1. Be prepared πŸ’ͺ for everything that may come into your life

Life is unpredictable. If good things are part of life, so does the bad thing. Good and bad things are inevitable part of life.

We should welcome the bad things in the same manner as the way we welcome the good things.

If we are mentally prepared for the worst and accept it, then I believe we do not suffer the way when we deny accepting the bad things.

2. Saving πŸ’° habit

Saving some amount from the money you earn can do wonders. I knew this but never took it seriously.

I ran into a huge financial crisis when I had to undergo surgery as I had no money to pay the bill however, with some help, I paid the bill.

You don't need to save a huge amount. Just split the money you earn into these areas and you are good to go:

➑ Save 10% of what you earn.

➑ Keep 20% for the debt you have to pay like a loan.

➑ Save 70% for your basic needs like food, clothing etc.

You can split this 70% amount into more smaller parts if that is okay like you can save 10% amount for emergency situations and the remaining 60% amount for basic needs.

3. Take care of your πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§family and friends

Work in life is crucial and it fills almost our entire life. However, most often we get so occupied with our work that we forget we have family and friends.

We forget that members of our family need our love, care and support. And above all, who else is there in our hard times? Our family and friends, right?

So, give them the value, love and attention they deserve.

As respected Dr APJ Abdul Kalam has said

"If you fall in your life, neither your boss nor your client will offer you a helping hand; your family and friends will.

4. Fulfil your postponed / delayed / unscheduled desire

We, as human beings, have certain desires and wishes, but they remain unfulfilled due to certain factors.

As a book nerd, I always had a desire to sell books apart from my day job however, I have still been unable to do that.

As I laid on the surgery table on my surgery day, I began to think why I haven't still done this and the answer was I feared of failure.

That day I contemplated that if I keep on fearing, I will never be able to fulfil this desire. What worse can happen? Let's face this fear.

Maybe this can present me with more opportunities. Maybe I can earn more than my day job. Who knowsπŸ€·β€β™€οΈ?

F.E.A.R has two meanings - Forget Everything And Run OR Face Everything And Rise. The choice is yours.

5. Don't be a 🌳tree

Move , Wander, Explore - you are not a tree. Enjoy the places with amazing people that are in your life.

Spend time with some old people. Listen to their experiences and lessons that they have learned.

Forget the pain that someone has caused you.

Leave the grudges that you have hold on to someone for quite a long time. Practice this and you won't have to clench your fists every time you see them.

As Buddha said

Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.

Well, this is the end. I thank you a lot for reading this. May God bless you with all the blessings.

I am grateful to God for giving me this amazing life.

Thank you ! 😊😊😊